Aside

In the recent dev chat on twitter (transcript), it was mentioned that ‘with upcoming class changes ALL CLASSES will have some difficult choices’   this quote was directly relating to a question about hunters having to choose between survivability and dps.  Its an interesting quote though and makes me wonder what they have planned.  I would imagine that if we are going to have to make choices, they will be going beyond minor tweaks.  This quote may back this up (in response to a question asking when the class updates would be happening): ‘we are laying the groundwork now (and there’s lots of it). Later this year, we’ll see the big changes‘.

It seems that the classes do need looking at – I was reading a thread on the official forums where it seems that there is one unpopular trait line for each class (e.g. yellow for hunters – its situationally useful at best but I have to admit, I’ve never been in a situation where I’ve needed or wanted to trait yellow).  It does seem a bit of a waste especially as some of the legendary capstones are very um… unlegendary…  I think virtues are also in a similar position, once at level 85 it seems most people slot very similar virtues – those giving you extra morale, armour, phys and tact mit.  I know I slot the same traits on Eldaeriel and Mallendis (and on my lower lvl burg), Dimzad uses pretty much the same set as I do too (for heals and dps) and I know at least 2/3s of my virtues cross over with Aeo’s tanking ones.  So I think I can see why they are doing it.

Obviously, there are a multitude of possible ways in which they can change the classes.  I did have a mad leap of logic though…  I looked at the colours of the mounted combat stances and then at the colours of the trait lines…  Given that most modern MMOs are introducing more flexibility into classes and into group makeup, what if our trait lines could reflect different roles we could play within a group, similar to how it’s supposed to work in mounted combat?  E.g. Red being a DPS setup, Blue being a survivability/healing setup and Yellow being a crowd control / debuffing setup.  It could make for some very interesting changes and choices.  I’m not sure change on that scale is actually needed though but well, I’m sure I’m completely wrong and they won’t be making any changes even as nearly drastic as that 😉

By the way, I’ve obviously been thinking about virtues and the Slayer deeds are really quite odd.  I did think after completing the Slayer of Dunland meta-deed, I should have been diagnosed with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder rather than gain a level of compassion… (of all the virtues – compassion???!!!!)

some speculation re: class changes

2 comments on “some speculation re: class changes

  1. Heyhey StarShadow. I liked your picture set. Great capture on the NPC boredom. 🙂

    I too am wondering how this seemingly major set of changes will turn out. For RK, I like two of the three (Lightning DPS, and Healing) and couldn’t care less about the 3rd (Fire DOTs), but some swear by it.

Leave a comment