a sad time

Our guild has been chatting, both in game and on forums, and it seems that most of us will be at least pausing our subs in the near future.  Some have already cancelled and a few of us are giving it a little while longer to see how things pan out.  We’re a fairly small guild with around 20 active players (logging in regularly i mean) and a fair few who pop in and out of game.

There seems to be 2 main reasons why:

  1. Lack of content. The Sentinel’s Fate expansion was a lovely expansion, great questlines and had some of the most beautiful artwork I’ve seen in game.  However, there just wasn’t enough of it.  (I’m leaving any gear issues / class imbalances out of the equation here)  Just not enough to do.  From the information we’ve received about the next expansion (due Feb 11), Destiny of Velious, it looks as though this is going to be about the same size of Sentinel’s Fate.  So not enough to do and not really a lot to look forward to.
  2. The way EQ2X has been handled.  They don’t really seem to care about their longstanding customers and the split between the legacy and the free to play servers just seems to spell doom and low pops for legacy…   I would like to make it clear here, that most of us might actually have welcomed F2P onto our servers, if it had been done along the lines of DDO/LOTRO etc.   Yes there would have been a hoo ha over some of the items available through the Station Cash shop but I think it could have worked.   I certainly think different models of payment would be a good thing.

I will be playing on and off (though much less so than normal I think) until September / October and I will decide then whether or not to keep my sub running.  The good thing about cancelling though, is you can always come back 😉   If I do cancel, I will be very tempted to pop back for Frostfell and will be keeping an eye on the official forums and news about the next expansion (just in case).  I will be keeping in touch with my guildies of course, through our forums and for those who are interested, I will be writing about my gaming here 😉  I will be dipping in and out of LOTRO when it goes F2P (although I am currently resisting an urge to just buy it and sub ;)) and am keeping an eye on Rift.  Will also still be playing Dragon Age here and there too ofc 😉  I will be making a few changes to my blog to reflect the changes to my gaming.

Light of the Wolf has always been a fantastic guild with some truly fabulous people in and I really hope we will stay in touch and meet in other games, if eq2 goes down the pan.  I have tons of fun memories -killing Venril Sathir, the tone of group chat being constantly lowered, ranger pulls, swashy /rude, the smear jokes (still ugh! lol),  emaimee and dimzad running away from orcs soooo slowly as they were overburdened (with dimzad singing the chariots of fire song), talking about cakes, bacon butties, chip butties, making everyone hungry, singing in guild chat (written ofc), talking decorating, talking dps stats, hiding in someone’s box illusion, kalyyn’s rat trap in the guild hall, oh just too many to mention!

/cheer to our guild

9 comments on “a sad time

  1. I’m very disappointed with the direction the guild is taking, although I did see it coming from that first post on EQ2X. Not been with LoTW that long yet, but really did enjoy you guys’ company and will miss all the banter. I for one will probably stay with EQ2 until EQ3 comes out and hope to see most of you there one day 🙂 And I will, of course, keep following your blog 🙂

  2. well I’m hoping its a break to be honest. I know I need one, I’ve been playing for nearly 4 years 😉 All said and done, it is still one of the best and most complex MMOs out there so I expect I will be back at some point 🙂

    speak soon 🙂

  3. As posted on the guild forum, I’ve never ever been so happy and content in any guild, on any server, in any game, than I have in LotW. Love you guys 🙂

    Kaity

  4. kyral and kaity – thanks for commenting. I agree the people in our guild are just fab 🙂 Its why I can’t bring myself to pause my sub yet. It may be that I just need to take a few more breaks rather than cancel 😉

  5. Pingback: Happy 5th Year Blogoversary to me! | StarShadow

Leave a Reply

