nbilarge

some blogging advice (nbi)

OK so, you want to blog about gaming but you’re not sure where to start or what to write?  Funnily enough… that’s exactly how I feel right now!  This blog is mostly an online gaming diary with a few creative efforts, guides etc thrown in, so the advice I give will obviously be from this angle :)

Subjects:
The first thing that I feel is important is that you write about what you enjoy, not what you think others will enjoy.  If you have a great screenshot, post it up.  If you’re proud of an outfit you’ve created or a house you’ve decorated post that up.  If you’ve had a blast running around X dungeon – describe your adventures.  If you roleplay, try developing your character on your blog.  Experiment too – you don’t have to publish the results ;)  The subjects you write about may stay varied and personal or they may develop into a theme – follow your interests :)

Schedule:
Writing regularly is really helpful to keep readers coming back to your blogs (something I’m not always good at!)  In order to balance gaming, life and blogging I settled on posting a screenshot every Wednesday and then doing other posts as and when.  When I take a break, I generally put a note up on my blog so that people know you’re on a break rather than think the blog’s been abandoned.

Writing:
Read your posts back to yourself, make sure it flows.  Ask someone to proof read for you if you’d like an opinion before you publish.  One of the best pieces of advice I can give is to write your post as a draft, let it sit for a few days and revise and revise and then revise some more before you publish.  I would also recommend trying to illustrate your post with a screenshot as blogs are very visual and it really can catch your reader’s attention.  Having said that, it may not suit some type of articles or your style of blogging so down to you.  You can also preview your posts to check formatting and it can be easier to proof read too (thanks to Feliz for reminding me :))

Writing about more than one game:
I tend to write about most games I’m playing, rather than just concentrating on just one.  Generally I tend to have one MMO going interspersed with various single RPG games.  I try to keep the majority of my posts about my long term MMO and throw in a few posts about the single RPGs here and there.  There may be other ways to combine this but I find this style of blogging works well with my gaming habits.

Getting your blog known:
Aside from the brilliant NBI there are other things you can do

  • twitter… you can link your wordpress account with your twitter account and it will automatically tweet your post for you (don’t forget to add the hashtags – I always do ;))
  • facebook… again you can link your accounts
  • link to and comment on other blogs which post about the same games as you (make sure they are genuine comments though and not just flailing for attention ;))
  • check out community resources for your game (e.g. lotro’s free people’s press) and submit a link to be advertised
  • I use the same icon for all my gaming related accounts so people can recognise me immediately and for consistency
  • add your blog’s link to your signature on any game related forums
  • publish regularly (as often as you can cope with)

I’m going to try and get a post up with tips on using WordPress (I love this platform!)

30 comments on “some blogging advice (nbi)

  1. Yes, one of the most important things: Read your own post at least once in a preview mode, if your blogging platform supports it. That by itself takes already care of so many typos. I tend to start writing a sentence and revise it mid sentence, which often leaves fragments of previous revisions in weird places. Rereading takes care of that, too. And of course it lets you see formatting issues, like the picture you added floats into the sidebar, etc, etc

    #mmonbi brought me here, btw :)

  2. I echo what Feliz said. Unfortunately that is the part where I struggle the most when writing posts. Dang my impatience!

    Anyway, some great tips there and I got here from the “Newbie Blogger Initiative” forums. :)

  3. thanks both for commenting. Thanks for pointing out the preview mode Feliz, I will add that to the main article and Rakuno, glad its been useful :)

    I do feel very much a lightweight compared to some of my fellow bloggers (and nearly fell off my chair when Syp asked me to be a sponsor ;)) – but I hope it shows that you don’t have to be a ‘heavyweight’ to blog, have fun and interact :)

  4. Pingback: NBI: Naughty cows, neurosis, and horse races « Bio Break

  5. Pingback: NBIMMO: Be Open Minded (…Unlike Me) | Tales of the Aggronaut

  6. Pingback: NBI: Naughty cows, neurosis, and horse races | Game Ninja

  7. Pingback: Friday is Link Love Day | The MMO Compendium

  8. Pingback: NBI: Month Wrapup | Bio Break

  9. Pingback: Newbie Blogger Initiative Wrap up

  10. Pingback: NBI: Tha Tha That’s All Folks! | Stropp's World

  11. Pingback: The NBI Wraps! | Ardwulf's Lair

  12. Pingback: Newbie Blogger Initiative: That was the month that was… « Blog de ​​la Burro

  13. Pingback: Newbie Blogger Iniative: Time flies when you’re having fun | Live like a Nerd

  14. Pingback: NBI: I’d Call That a Success | Tastes Like Battle Chicken

  15. Pingback: NBI – All The Pretty Blogs… With Some Contradictory Advice Thrown In « The Ancient Gaming Noob

  16. Pingback: [NBI] In which we celebrate! « Shards of Imagination

  17. Pingback: NBI – All The Pretty Blogs… With Some Contradictory Advice Thrown In | Game Ninja

  18. Pingback: NBI Wrap Up « MMO Gamer Chick

  19. Pingback: NBI Group Hug! « Inside the Magic Shop

  20. Pingback: Wrapping Up #MMONBI | Jaded Alt

  21. Pingback: NBI Month Wrap-up! | Casual Stroll to Mordor

  22. Pingback: Newbie Blogger Initiative: Month Wrapup – #NBIMMO « Casual Aggro

  23. Pingback: NBI: How Will This End? In Fire. « Tremayne's Law

  24. Pingback: NBI: The End is only the Beginning « The Frugal Gamer

  25. Pingback: What I Learned from the Newbie Blogger Initiative | The MMO Compendium

  26. Pingback: NBI: Thoughts from a happy pally « Not Too Heavy

  27. Pingback: Newbie Blogger Initiative Info and Guides | Healing the masses

  28. Pingback: newbie blogger initiative | StarShadow

Leave a Reply

